A-Z Databases

Featured Databases

The most frequently-used databases

Architektur (OLC-SSG) This link opens in a new window Why search here? The focus is on architecture. What’s included? This reference database indexes articles from nearly 500 journals, which means you can see which articles were published in which journals. Many articles are described briefly by means of abstracts or keywords.

Featured

Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window Why search here? Art and Architecture Complete covers all areas of visual arts and architecture. What’s included? This comprehensive database indexes more than 1500 journals, about 370 of them are available as full text, in addition to providing about 200 e-books and a collection of about 63000 images. (as of August 2023)

Featured

Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window Why search here? The database covers all art categories, including design. What’s included? This database provides references to around 600 publications, i.e. gives an overview of articles, yearbooks and museum periodicals published between 1929 and 1984. (as of August 2023)

Featured

DAAI - Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window Why search here? DAAI focuses on graphic design, industrial design and all categories of applied arts (from industrial design, furniture, ceramics, glass and jewelry to fashion, textile arts and book art). What’s included? DAAI is a reference database for abstracts and bibliographic records from journals, reviews and exhibition catalogs on the subject of design and applied arts published from 1973 onwards. The database contains 212000 records, with around 1200 being added each month. (as of August 2023)

Featured

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Why search here? As a multidisciplinary platform, Ebook Central covers a wide range of subjects from art and architecture, pedagogy, social science and philosophy to law, natural science and technology. What’s included? Ebook Central enables users to browse over one million ebooks. Ebooks can be read online for a short while, and then downloaded and saved as soon as the Library has activated the item. (as of August 2023)

Featured

JSTOR Arts & Science III Collection This link opens in a new window Why search here? JSTOR covers the areas of art, music, film, theater, literature and religious studies as well as architecture. What’s included? JSTOR enables research in 150 licensed full-text journals on the subjects mentioned in "Why search here". In addition, it also provides references to articles from other JSTOR collections. (as of August 2023)

Featured

Year searches are done in All Fields.

PressReader This link opens in a new window Why search here? This resource comprises around 7000 international, national and regional daily papers and magazines from 100 countries in 60 languages. What’s included? PressReader provides online access to national and international newspapers and journals, enabling users to read and search for articles. (as of August 2023)

Featured

check out extra category for design. Find many design journals.

New / Trial Databases

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.

Artists of the World This link opens in a new window Why search here? AOW is the successor of AKL and provides biographical information on more than 1.2 million artists across the world from antiquity to the present day. What’s included? AOW covers all genres of fine arts (painting, graphics, sculpture, architecture, photography, video and installation art, and much more). New artists are constantly added and existing data updated. (as of August 2023)

New

Alternate Name(s) AOW / Artists of the World (AOW) / Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon Online (AKL)

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window Why search here? Berg Fashion Library is an interdisciplinary online resource for fashion studies. What's included? The database contains, among other things, the "Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion" and other reference works, over 200 e-books, teaching and learning resources as well as over 17,000 images from renowned museums. (updated February 2024)

New

Alternate Name(s) Bloomsbury Berg Fashion Library

Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library This link opens in a new window Why search here? Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library is an online resource for costume studies and the study of the history of clothing and fashion. What's included? The database contains more than 65 e-books, including authoritative scientific literature and reference works, practical guides to costume making, overview articles, some videos and a timeline. (updated February 2024)

New

Alternate Name(s) Dress and Costume Library

Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive This link opens in a new window Why search here? The Fashion Video Archive is part of Bloomsbury Fashion Central, a multimedia platform for fashion and dress. What's included? In partnership with YOOX-NET-A-PORTER, Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive exhibits almost 3,000 spectacular fashion shows presented in Paris, London, New York, and Milan by 460 international designers, and covers the period 1979 to 2003. (source: https://www.bloomsburyfashioncentral.com/about-bloomsbury-fashion-video-archive) ( (updated April 2024)

Trial

Alternate Name(s) Fashion Video Archive

Bloomsbury International Encyclopedia of Surrealism This link opens in a new window Why search here? Bloomsbury International Encyclopedia of Surrealism offers a comprehensive and systematic overview of one of the most influential and enduring art movements of the 20th century. What's included? The database makes a three-volume main reference work searchable and includes introductory articles, an interactive timeline, an interactive world map and rare archival images, portraits and artwork. (updated February 2024)

New

Alternate Name(s) International Encyclopedia of Surrealism Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Surrealism

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window Why search here? This collection provides access to content from the world’s most trusted university presses and scholarly publishers. What's included? From the 9,500+ cost-free books available in this collection the library has selected 4,200+ covering subjects from the arts and humanities. (as of August 2023)

New

Kanopy This link opens in a new window Why search here? Kanopy is a video-streaming platform that provides academic institutions with essential film material for learning and research. What’s included? Kanopy contains over 19,500 international feature and documentary films on all subject areas and from all genres, from classics to current productions and independent films. (as of December 2023)

New